>Limewire

>

I always here my friends talk about the word “Limewire” and for some reason it just scares me. I think of illegal and I think of getting fined lots of money.

I repair computers all the time and for some reason about a  third of the computers I repair contain an application called “Limewire”. Limewire is an application that runs on a computer and it allows the user to download music (illegally of course). I have to admit I tried it for a while but got tired of it killing my windows operating system. Of course it would do this because it would installed viruses on my computer. I didn’t know why at the time but just thought it was some problem with the Antivirus program I was using.

All of a sudden I open the application and it won’t work and I cannot download, I go to their website for support and find this box in the middle of the window and is says:

ATTENTION“LIMEWIRE IS UNDER A COURT ORDER DATED OCTOBER 26, 2010 TO STOP DISTRIBUTING THE LIMEWIRE SOFTWARE. A COPY OF THE INJUNCTION CAN BE FOUND HERE. LIMEWIRE LLC, ITS DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS, ARE TAKING ALL STEPS TO COMPLY WITH THE INJUNCTION. WE HAVE VERY RECENTLY BECOME AWARE OF UNAUTHORIZED APPLICATIONS ON THE INTERNET PURPORTING TO USE THE LIMEWIRE NAME. WE DEMAND THAT ALL PERSONS USING THE LIMEWIRE SOFTWARE, NAME, OR TRADEMARK IN ORDER TO UPLOAD OR DOWNLOAD COPYRIGHTED WORKS IN ANY MANNER CEASE AND DESIST FROM DOING SO. WE FURTHER REMIND YOU THAT THE UNAUTHORIZED UPLOADING AND DOWNLOADING OF COPYRIGHTED WORKS IS ILLEGAL.”


I didn’t believe it at first but then after a while I figured out it was real. So I just uninstalled it and went on and found another program called “Frost wire”.  Of course that application caused me lots of problems and viruses. So I uninstalled that too. So after I quit using it, I noticed that my computers always were running fast and up to speed, with no problems. So I decided I would never use this or anything like it ever again!

Today a friend of mine had told me that about this awesome application for windows called limewire and I’m like get that thing off your computer ASAP! So I think he did.

Anyways long story short, DON’T EVER DOWNLOAD MUSIC VIA LIMEWIRE OR ANYTHING LIKE IT!

Have a Good day everyone and once again, don’t use Limewire!



Posted on April 12, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

